2021 marks the inaugural year for the Australian Modern Barber Awards (AMBA), Australia’s new premium awards program for the male grooming industry. These awards have been launched to provide men’s hairdressing trailblazers with a much needed and often requested benchmark of excellence and platform to showcase their creative and business skills.

Consisting of 13 categories including the AMBA Barber of the Year and the AMBA Barber Business of the Year, they have been judged by an independent panel of judges including media, PR and business experts, national and international barbering icons and specialists in the barbering industry including Sofie Pok (USA) AKA Staygold, Nieves Almarez (USA) and Rob and Leen, the Schorem Barbers (NL). Created by esteemed trade visionaries Mocha Group, owners of the Australian Hair Industry Awards and Australian Beauty Industry Awards, these are just the latest initiative revolutionising the way our hair experts are able to engage with consumers and show off their talents.

Individual categories are proudly sponsored by The Barbiere Company, Wahl Professional, Milkman Grooming Co, American Crew, Schwarzkopf Professional, The Male Tools and Co – Depot, Shortcuts, Excellent Edges, Babyliss Pro and Andis, with the Official After Party due to be held at the George On Collins St, sponsored By Hair Co. 

The awards will culminate in the first AMBA event in Melbourne at the Plaza Ballroom on Monday 6th December where winners will be announced and the industry will come together to celebrate.


Australian Modern Barber of the Year

Sponsored by The Barbiere Company

Danny Lazzarino – Barber Boys

Don De Sanctis – Barber Boys

Jan Yamacli – Barberjan

Jase Alpen – Zeppelin Barbers

Leigh Winsor – Area Studio


Australian Modern Barber Business of the Year

Sponsored by Wahl Professional


Barber Boys & Co, Newton

Memphis Barbers, Gympie

New York Barbers


Best Mens Collection – Classic

Sponsored by Milkman Grooming Co

Britt Westcott – MADE Barber & Barista

Don De Sanctis – Barber Boys

Johnny Georgiou – Barbery the Craft of a Barber

Lou Fimmano – Barber Boys

Leigh Winsor – Area Studio

Paul James Graham – Paul and Paul Salon

Sean Hayes – Backbone Barbershop


Best Mens Collection – Freestyle

Sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional

Clint Wallace – Barber by Design

Con Niños – Largers and Barbers

Johnny Georgiou – Barbery the Craft of a Barber


Best Team Collection

Sponsored by American Crew

AREA Studio

Barbery the Craft of a Barber

ZAK Grooming for Men


Best Customer Care

Sponsored by Shortcuts

AREA Studio

Grand Royal Barbers

New York Barbers


Best Barbershop Design

Sponsored by Babyliss Pro

Barber Boys & Co, Newton

Made Barber & Barista

Memphis Barbers, Gympie

Mr. V & Co. Barbershop

New York Barbers

Platform 1 Barbershop


Best Business Director/Owner of the Year

Sponsored by Depot – The Male Tools & Co.

Cameron McFadyen – The Blacksmith Barbers

Don De Sanctis – Barber Boys

Frank & Helen Ciccone – Hair by Ciccone

Sam Squires – Backbone Barbershop


Best Mens Educator of the Year – Individual or Organisation

Sponsored by Excellent Edges

AREA Academy

Barbery the Craft of a Barber

Fraser Forsey – Barber Education Australia

Jules Tognini – lil’ off the top

MIG Training

Mikail Dasko

The Barber Academy Australia




Sponsored by Barbershop Magazine


Depot – Sports Hair + Body Shampoo

Justice Professional – Cool Mint Shampoo & Conditioner

Juuce – Peppermint Shampoo & Conditioner

Mr Muk – Hair, Beard & Body Wash

Pure – Uplift Shampoo & Conditioner



Hanz De Fuko – Claymation

Justice Professional – Firm Clay

Juuce – Messed Up

Muk Haircare – Filthy Muk Styling Paste

Pure – Forming Paste



Depot – Conditioning Beard Oil

Juuce – Botanic Oil Serum

Mr Muk – Beard Oil

Pure – Walnut Scrub



Sponsored by Andis

To Be Announced on the Night of the Awards